Autostart workrave in lubuntu

In this post I explain how I’ve made a small RSI -combating utility boot automatically with lubuntu.

Problem with autostarting.
After installing a very nice utility to keep track of working on the computer, Workrave [workrave.org],
I found out, it doesn’t autostart in lubuntu (unlike in Windows 7, where it autostarts with Windows OS).

Simple CLI comman


ds

To make it automatically start when I boot Lubuntu, I opened “autostart” -named file in CLI in this directory: /etc/xdg/lxsession/Lubuntu/.
The CLI command looked like this:

sudo nano /etc/xdg/lxsession/Lubuntu/autostart

* I had to edit that file under sudo privileges, otherwise you can’t modify the file. This is why sudo goes before the command.

So, after that all I had to to is to add this string to the end of the file:
@workrave

So, when I added this line, the whole modified file looked like this:

@lxpanel --profile Lubuntu
@xscreensaver -no-splash
@xfce4-power-manager
@pcmanfm --desktop --profile lubuntu
@/usr/lib/policykit-1-gnome/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1
@workrave

I think, it lists all the programs that start with my lubuntu) Now, it also boots Workrave. Just what is needed)

The result
Now my linux computer boots Workrave for me,
so it  advises to take small breaks, protecting from RSI and thus keeping me more healthy)

Comments are closed.

